If you have a support question or comment, click the Post New Topic link below. Sytist Manual | Sytist Articles | Facebook Page.

Draft Vs. Publishing

 
Please log in or Create an account to post or reply to topics.
 
Arron Robles
148 posts
Mon Feb 11, 19
1:11 AM
Tim. Need to know the description of a draft vs, publishing. The Documents are not specific enough for me.

Here is my understanding:
Drafts: Once you keep a gallery in draft, google or any other engine CANNOT crawl and push the meta data to the web Correct?

Publishing: Once you Publish the gallery, google or any other engine CAN crawl and push the meta data to the web Correct?

So the content is being pushed out to the web. Any clarification on this subject would be great.

Cheers,
 
 
 
 
 
Arron Robles, Solutions Designer | Reports Developer |A.P.Visions.com - arron@apvisions.com | PicturesPro Affiliate | Sytist V.3.1.0 |
Tim - PicturesPro.com
10747 posts
admin
Mon Feb 11, 19
6:45 AM
Draft means it won't be listed on the website with the other published content. The page can still be accessed directly. It won't be listed in the sitemap, but possible Google can still crawl it.

Published will be listed on the website with other content, added to the sitemap and google can crawl it.

If you don't want anyone to access the page, including google, you can set it to closed.
 
 
 
 
 
Tim Grissett, DIA - PicturesPro.com || My Email Address: info@picturespro.com
Arron Robles
148 posts
Mon Feb 11, 19
10:08 AM
Thanks Tim. Just to clarify, if I close the gallery, can you customer access the gallery?

I don’t want google or any other engine to crawl this site at all. Right now content is leaking out to the inerweb, and our customers are not happy with that.

What’s the best approach to keeping this data on lock down only to access with the password and not listed?

Cheers,
Arron
 
 
 
 
 
Arron Robles, Solutions Designer | Reports Developer |A.P.Visions.com - arron@apvisions.com | PicturesPro Affiliate | Sytist V.3.1.0 |
Tim - PicturesPro.com
10747 posts
admin
Mon Feb 11, 19
1:09 PM
Customers can not access closed galleries. Only you when logged into the admin.

If the galleries are password protected, goggle can crawl the page, but it can't crawl any content of the page. Google would just get the password form for the page.

If you don't want google crawling the site at all, you need to create a robots.txt file.

https://www.google.com/search?q=robots.txt

User-agent: *
Disallow: /

 
 
 
 
 
Tim Grissett, DIA - PicturesPro.com || My Email Address: info@picturespro.com
Loading more pages
Loading more pages

Sign up for email promotions.

Your information is safe with us and won't be shared.

Thank you for signing up!

 
©2003 - 2018 Grissett, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

By continuing to browse or by clicking Accept Cookies, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device necessary to provide you with the services available through our website.

    Accept   Privacy & Cookie Policy
Loading More Photos
Scroll To Top
Close Window
Loading
Close